All Elite Wrestling have something to look forward to next week. Rumour has it that the AEW is set to release its first video game – a rival to the popular WWE series – as part of a special event next week.

A relative newcomer in the professional wrestling industry, All Elite Wrestling has quickly established itself as a force to be reckoned with. Now, it seems that the brand is going to make the leap into the world of interactive entertainment.

It’s been reported that AEW has filed a trademark for a video game, and AEW Vice President Kenny Omega has spoken candidly about the game’s ongoing development. With the announcement of a special event, fans are eager to assume that the big news promised will coincide with the Xbox Series X in some way.

When to watch the AEW Special Event

The AEW Special Event (which may or may not contain a video game announcement, nothing is yet confirmed) will take place on November 10th at 15:00 PT/18:00 ET in the US, and 23:00 GMT in the UK.

As this is the launch day for the new Xbox Series X, and as Microsoft is planning a stream of its own at 10:00 PT/13:00 ET (18:00 GMT), some fans are speculating that the two streams are connected and that AEW will announce a video game for the new Xbox.

 

That said, from the sounds of it, fans shouldn’t get their hopes up about playing an AEW game any time soon.

AEW

What is the release date for the AEW video game?

At present, there is no set release date for the AEW video game, and it’s unlikely that one will be announced during the upcoming event. According to Kenny Omega, the game is still very far from completion:

“So it’s a little ways away. We’re not going to be competing head to head against WWE Battlegrounds anytime soon. But when the game is ready, and when it will release, I think it has a very good chance of standing alone is probably the best wrestling product as a video game that you could probably find on the market. That’s the hope anyway.”

From the sounds of it, fans shouldn’t hold their breath for an AEW game some time soon, but the upcoming event should hopefully provide some insight into the project’s ongoing development.

Have something to tell us about this article?