There have been 14 CS:GO Major Champions since the Valve-sponsored majors begun in 2013.  All CS:GO Major Winners Part 1 covered the first win of Fnatic to EnVyUs’ upset win against them.

Part 2 will start with the rise of Luminosity Gaming (MIBR) up to the modern day, where Astralis has repeated their feat and won two back-to-back majors.

All CS:GO Major Winners Part 2 - Luminosity era to the Astralis era

All CS:GO Major Winners

MLG Major Championship: Columbus 2016 – Luminosity Gaming

Runner Up: NaVi

MLG Columbus was the first ever major outside of Europe. It was also the first ever to feature a non-European team in the finals. This was the start of LG’s reign of terror. The Brazilian team showed without a doubt they were the best team in the world, including two massive semifinal comebacks against Team Liquid and a notorious jumping AWP 4k by coldzera.

ESL One: Cologne 2016 – SK Gaming

Runner Up: Team Liquid

Shortly before the second Major of 2016, Luminosity Gaming switched organizations to SK. Many will remember this major for s1mple’s incredible run with Liquid, including a massive falling AWP highlight against Fnatic. However, SK Gaming once again reigned supreme and the roster became back-to-back CS:GO Major Champions in a 2-0 victory against Liquid.

ELEAGUE Major: Atlanta 2017 – Astralis

Runner Up: Virtus Pro

In the second US Major, Astralis had an incredible run. Despite never making a Major final before, they took out NaVi, Fnatic, and finally, Virtus Pro to win. ELEAGUE hosted a rematch of the finals at the ELEAGUE Clash for Cash, but Astralis once again came out on top in a 2-1 victory.

PGL Major Kraków 2017 – Gambit

Runner Up: Immortals

Krakow 2017 was the most bizarre and unpredictable CS:GO Major of all time. Before the major, Gambit and Immortals were outside of the top 10 teams in the world. However, both beat higher-ranked teams to make it to the Grand Finals, where Gambit won 2-1 and became CS:GO Major Champions.

ELEAGUE Major: Boston 2018 – Cloud9

Runner Up: FaZe

The CS:GO Major returned to the United States in 2018 and the results were even more surprising. Cloud9 barely scraped through the New Legends stage with a 3-2 score. However, they came back strong in the final bracket beating G2, SK Gaming, and finally FaZe Clan in a Grand Final upset. They’re the first and only NA team to win a CS:GO Major.

FACEIT Major: London 2018 – Astralis

Runner Up: NaVi

While the previous two majors were unpredictable, FACEIT London may have been the most predictable major of all time. The top four were practically the top four teams in the world at the time- Astralis, NaVi, Team Liquid, and MIBR. Astralis dominated the competition and only dropped one map the entire tournament.

IEM Katowice 2019 – Astralis

Runner Up: ENCE

That finally brings us to the most recent major, IEM Katowice 2019. Astralis once again showed their dominance, reaching the finals with only one inconsequential map loss to Renegades. However, one of the biggest stories was the amazing underdog run by ENCE. While the Finnish team battled their way to the Grand Finals, Astralis won again to become three-time CS:GO Major Champions.

Best CS:GO Players 2019 – is dev1ce better than s1mple?

Related Topics