Twitch Rivals Fortnite event confirmed!

Twitch has confirmed that they will be running a Fortnite tournament with some of the biggest names around. The streaming platform and Fortnite have linked up together in recent months, such as adding Twitch Prime skins to the game.

Yesterday on the Twitch blog, the company revealed that they would be running a four-day event on the Twitch Rivals channel. There will be a whopping $2 million prize pool, with the likes of Ninja, Cloakzy, NickMercs, and SypherPK all announced. It kicks off August 17th and will be part of the Fortnite Summer Skirmish event.

This one will have 49 duos team across both North America and Europe competing for $260,000 1st place prize.

On their website, Twitch employee, Brian Albert revealed the event’s times and dates.

The first event in the four-event series starts Friday, August 17 with the European tournament at 9 AM PT followed by the North American tournament at 2 PM PT.”

Tournament Dates

Friday, August 17
Saturday, August 18
Friday, August 24
Saturday, August 25

Tournament Hours

Europe — 9:00 AM PDT (18:00 CEST)
North America — 2:00 PM PDT / 5:00 PM EDT

Earlier this year, Twitch Rivals hosted a PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Invitational, with a prize pool of $100,000. Back then players like Dr Disrepect, Shroud, GoldGloveTV, and GassyMexican all got involved. Though that event was a bit of a nightmare — in no part thanks to PUBG’s problems — Twitch and Epic will be hoping Fortnite will not have any issues going forward.

Have something to tell us about this article?